Posted in 5k, 5km, fun run, zombie apocalypse run

5th April, 2014… I survived another zombie apocalypse

Heading to Intramuros for another suicidal zombie apocalypse mission.
Heading to Intramuros for another suicidal zombie apocalypse mission.

A year ago, on this night, I embarked on another zombie apocalypse mission. The location, the walled city of Intramuros. The mission, to find out the whereabouts and status of Dr. Alfonso Adarna and to know more about The Brotherhood and their motives.

It was a calm and warm night...
It was a calm and warm night…

I arrived at the site some time around 6pm. There were thousands of us, preparing, putting on our armor (better known as the life flags, 3 life flags) and waiting for the debriefing.

A warning?
A warning?

At around 8pm, we were allowed to enter the walls. Soldiers and Dr. Vera Adarna explained our objectives and instructed us not to trust The Brotherhood.

The Debriefing...
The Debriefing…
2nd thoughts?
2nd thoughts?

They asked us to group ourselves to 10 people per team before releasing us into the wild.

Going to the restricted area...
Going to the restricted area…

Just only hundreds of meters away from base camp, there were more than a dozen zombies waiting for us in the streets. It was a chaotic sight, people panicking, screaming, running aimlessly like a herd of prey trying to get away from predators.

They're waiting for the hamburgers with legs. Photo Credit: pefdgraphy
They’re waiting for the hamburgers with legs. Photo Credit: pefdgraphy
when zombies attack, screw the game plan! every man for himself!!!
when zombies attack, screw the game plan! every man for himself!!!
It's hard to keep the group together when you're surrounded by zombies.
It’s hard to keep the group together when you’re surrounded by zombies.

I got separated from my team and almost got turned into a Gian sandwich when I saw two zombies ahead of me waiting to take their 1st bite. I can’t turn left because people were running on my left, we will bump each other if I go that direction. I can’t turn right because half of the gate is blocking the path. All I can do was slightly lower my head and upper body a bit whilst running and do a kamikazee dash, sacrificing a life flag, but still hoping that I’ll survive without a scratch using the suicidal move. Luckily, I did with all life flags intact.

The kamikazee dash. Very risky, but I survived the 2 zombies that tried to take a bite out of the Gian sandwich.
The kamikazee dash. Very risky, but I survived the 2 zombies that tried to take a bite out of the Gian sandwich. Photo Credit: spin.ph

After reaching a safe distance away from the zombie horde, I got reunited with my team. We reached the Brotherhood territory. Brotherhood soldiers are scattered everywhere, blocking checkpoints, requiring anyone to present their Brotherhood symbol to pass. A member of our team negotiated with an old lady outside the checkpoint to give us a pass and we got through.

Our team going down, towards the dark, zombie infested area within the walls.
Our team going down, towards the dark, zombie infested area within the walls.

We reached an area within the walls. More like a dark pit infested by zombies. The Brotherhood were toying with us with their spotlight. It’s a game of hide and seek, but more like a stealth mission but for people without Batman or Sam Fisher level skills. When their light touches you, the zombies see you, then all hell breaks loose. I got spotted, a zombie ran towards me, I ran away, but I tripped and fell to the ground. The zombie was still going after me, so I did a barrel roll to evade, got up, and ran away. Unfortunately, another zombie was waiting for me and snatched a life flag (two more grabs and my armor is out, I’m dead meat). I was wounded, but just small flesh wounds and I can still run.

Then we met the Brotherhood leaders. They were girls, goth-looking, but very perky. It’s confusing. Their speech can be deceiving, they don’t seem to be bad people at all. I didn’t listen much to their speech as the task of finding Dr. Alfonso Adarna was still our prime objective, so we proceeded to the next area.

The Brotherhood. Photo Credit: spin.ph
The Brotherhood. Photo Credit: spin.ph

The thing about The Brotherhood is that they want to control the zombie horde for protection instead of opting for the cure, which is what The Rebellion want. The next area of their territory is the experimental red light zone. To demonstrate their ability to control, the red spotlight protects anyone within the radius of the red light. Zombie can’t attack you, so it’s more of a zombie repellent light than actually controlling zombies. They tested it on us as we try to pass the area, they use the red light to protect us from harm as we walk towards the other side. We walked slowly, staying within the light’s radius, then suddenly, like a cruel prank, they turned the light off and the zombies started to attack us. We ran like crazy in different directions and I almost bumped another runner. We survived again.

It was another quiet and calm moment as we walked on a silent road, but as seen from a distance, something is quite amiss. An intersection was blocked, forcing us to turn left, to another street filled with zombies.

It's a trap!
It’s a trap! Photo Credit: spin.ph
Definitely a trap. They were waiting for us! Photo Credit: spin.ph
Definitely a trap. They were waiting for us! Photo Credit: spin.ph

It was like the literal Highway to Hell, but only hundreds of meters. As usual in time of batshit panic, it was ‘every man for himself’ mode activated again, I made a mad dash, successfully evading zombies, and waited for the others on the safe side of the road. Unfortunately, we lost 2 members, and the rest of us proceeded to the next area.

We reached another check point, in front of the Manila Cathedral. Soldiers making a speech of either joining The Brotherhood or complete the Rebellion’s mission. Pushing through with the mission, we reached the gates of Fort Santiago and found the drunk and crazy Dr. Alfonso Adarna. Kinda hard to understand, but his point was delivered, if we prefer the  ‘cure the zombies’ advocacy of the Rebellion, then find the 4 ingredients of the cure hidden within Fort Santiago. After evading zombified Yamashita and other zombies in Fort Santiago, we walked to the hidden lair of The Rebellion.

There is one more difficult task that we need to go through to reach the lair. We have to navigate our way in a dark corridor filled with deaf zombies. They can see you, but they’re kinda dumb that they only react and attack you if you stay still or move too fast. All you have to do is walk, but not to slow as if you seem like you’re standing still. It was going smoothly, I even stayed calm when jump scare zombies appeared in front of me.

Unfortunately, a zombie blocked my way, and its appearance kinda psyched me out and I stood still, so it grabbed a life flag (kinda lame way to lose a life flag), leaving me with just one and that kinda forced me to move a little quickly towards the lair.

I made it, we’re safe. We chose The Rebellion side and was greeted by soldiers and a scientist who took the ingredients, created the antidote, and injected it to a chained zombie. The cure works, the zombie returned to its normal human state, and the mission was a success.

The test subject zombie about to be cured. Photo Credit: spin.ph
The test subject zombie about to be cured. Photo Credit: spin.ph

We started with ten people in our group. We lost 3 members by the time we reached the Rebellion’s lair. Their fates remain unknown, they could’ve survived on their own or not. The rest of us, with the exception of one member, survived with at least 1 life flag left.

It was mission accomplished and regardless of the side you choose, The Rebellion or The Brotherhood, humanity wins this chapter of the story. It has been a year now and I am always waiting for the next Outbreak Mission.

My ending and survivor dog tag.
My ending and survivor dog tag.
Epilogue: Was attacked by zombie Chucky at base camp.
Epilogue: Was attacked by zombie Chucky at base camp.
Still survived though...
Am I gonna be a zombie on the next Outbreak? hmmm….
Leave a Reply

