Posted in 20k, 20km, fun run, running event

New Year’s Resolution, 1st Fun Run of the year!… RESOLUTION RUN 2015

The arrival to Nuvali @ 03:41am. Gunstart 04:30am.
Arrival in Nuvali @ 03:41am. Gunstart 04:30am.

It’s 2015 and this is my first fun run, The Resolution Run 2015 by RunMania. Before this, I was looking for a long distance run for January, preferably 21k. My choice before was Egg Power Run at BGC, but thankfully, this came along with a reasonable registration price (800php with singlet, finisher medal, and finisher shirt) and it’s even better because Nuvali is the location. There is a 32km distance offered, but I joined the 20km category (it’s 1km short of today’s half-marathon distance, but hey, the full marathon distance before was 40km, so it’s old-school distance, I guess) because this is my preferred distance and I am saving my first 32km run for the 2nd leg of Run United 2015. I arrived at the event more than 30 minutes before our gunstart. There’s not much sponsors in the event, so it’s just runners focusing more on the run than freebies.

The 32k runners getting ready for the gunstart
The 32k runners getting ready for the gunstart

It was a dark and cold morning and days before the event, we were informed to bring headlamps. The 32k runners started at 4am, so I did some walking around the event area to warm me up as I wait for our gunstart 30 minutes later.

In running, your greatest opponent is yourself. Me facing my shadow.
In running, your greatest opponent is yourself. Me facing my shadow.

As our race started, I ran a comfortable pace knowing that Nuvali Boulevard to Nuvali Main Road has some uphill segments that may drain my stamina early if I push it too much.

20k runners, here we go!
20k runners, here we go! Doing my signature left-handed ‘fight fear’ pose and wearing my usual blue Red Bull arm sleeves. Photo credit: Laguna RUN.
Rogue Rebel Runner. 20km. Nuvali. January 2015. Photo credit: Laguna RUN.
Rogue Rebel Runner. 20km. Nuvali. January 2015. Photo credit: Laguna RUN.

It was a smooth (with some slight difficulties because of the cold weather and some sore throat and slight runny nose) run all the way back to the roundabout which was around 9km.

Somewhere between km 6 and km 9. Still have enough in the tank.
Somewhere between km 6 and km 9. Still have enough in the tank. Photo credit: Runmania FB page.

From the roundabout, we went to the very dark part of the route, the one that requires headlamps because there are no street lights, it’s the Nuvali – Brgy. Casile road. It was a very dark road surrounded by grass and since not everyone brought their own headlamps or flashlights, some runners started to slowdown because of the darkness. I adjusted and pinpoint my Energizer headlamp (thank you, Energizer Night Race 2014) to guide some of the runners ahead of me. It was the road to the best part of the route, the Marcos Twin Mansion. En route to that place, was a torturous uphill, one that gave me cramp warnings and it was still dark, cold with a little bit of fog. I walked all the way to reach the middle part which was the Twin Mansion. After reaching the creepy-looking, but beautiful mansion, we still had to go through another uphill to reach the 2nd and last U Turn. Going downhill was a lot easier, I sped up a little bit all the way down the rough road back to the Twin Mansion where I slowed down to take some pictures.

It probably was a nice mansion before, but even with the urban decay, it still looks beautiful.
It probably was a nice mansion before, but even with the urban decay, it still looks beautiful.
Still creepy though. I wonder if we arrived here at around 2 or 3am, will there be a lady in black or a white lady appearing on the front door or the windows, perhaps?
Still creepy though. I wonder if we arrived here at around 2 or 3am, will there be a lady in black or a white lady appearing at the front door or the windows, perhaps?
Good bye, old mansion. It's nice to see your beauty in the morning, but I wouldn't dare look at you at midnight.
Good bye, old mansion. It’s nice to see your beauty in the morning, but I wouldn’t dare look at you at midnight.

After spending significant time taking photos, I sped up a little bit again on the downhill to compensate the time at the Twin Mansions. I did slow down again midway to take some photo of Canlubang Golf and Country Club, but the photo wasn’t saved.

Scenic photo of Canlubang Golf and Country Club failed! I got a photo of the downhill instead.
Scenic photo of Canlubang Golf and Country Club failed! I got a photo of the downhill instead.

I got back to the main road, reaching the 16km at 1hr 56mins. That’s good, with 4km to go, it’s possible to finish it around 2hrs and 20mins. Then, the unexpected happened, the thing I never thought would happen to me in a pure fun run, I got multiple cramp warnings.

Only 4km to go and suddenly my calves are cramping up. This is bad, really, really bad.
Only 4km to go and suddenly my calves are cramping up. This is bad, really, really bad.

The cramping was so bad, there were multiple times that it stopped me on my tracks. Even worse, runners that were more than a kilometer away started catching up and eventually passed me, even an old man has overtaken me. I was still trying to push it with slow jogging, but the cramps won’t let me go more than 200m meters and I had to switch to brisk walking, then slow jogging, then back to brisk walking as the cramps attack from time to time. By the time I reached km 18, a hot chick with bib number 916 passed me by. I was still gonna try to overtake whoever I can, but by the time I reached km 19, cramping on my left leg made me submit to its will. I did whatever I can, even pulling down my left knee support to use as compression for the left calf, but It was the most painful cramp I ever experienced. Guerilla Race: Panther gave me cramps, Men’s Health UrbanAthlon 2014 gave me cramps, but those were obstacle runs, this run gave me the worst. I was limping from time to time, I still did some short jogging, alternating with brisk walking. But, at some point within the last 600m, I got pissed and did the dumbest thing ever, bend my left leg upwards causing the cramp to hit me with even higher intensity of pain. I got off balance and almost fell because of the pain. It was a dumba$s move and very embarrassing to the people behind me, seeing such a newbie mistake made by an experienced runner. So, I did that recovery stretch I’ve seen other runners do and from youtube, and got back on the road. Still slow and slightly limping, I did what I can to finish and hoping I can still make a sub-2:30 finish. I saw 3 photographers near the finish line and still have some time to pose for pictures.

Still going... despite the pain
Still going… despite the pain. Photo credit: Laguna Run
Keep Calm and Carry On... Photo Credit: Run Lipa
Keep Calm and Carry On… Photo Credit: Run Lipa
Unusual stride caused by cramps. Photo credit: Run Lipa
Unusual stride caused by cramps. Photo credit: Run Lipa
Sometimes, you have to ignore the pain and push through. Photo credit: Run Lipa
Sometimes, you have to ignore the pain and push through. Photo credit: Run Lipa
"All men have limits. They learn what they are and learn not to exceed them. I ignore mine." - Batman : Knightfall. Photo credit: Laguna Run
“All men have limits. They learn what they are and learn not to exceed them. I ignore mine.” – Batman : Knightfall. Photo credit: Laguna Run

So, I finally reached the finish line and after all I went through, that torturous uphill and the excruciating cramps, I’m so damn glad to have finished with a sub-2:30 PR.

My Nike+ record. My official time by Runningmate is 2hrs 29mins 30 secs. http://www.results.runningmate.ph/index.php/event/result/186
My Nike+ record. My official time by Runningmate is 2hrs 29mins 30 secs. http://www.results.runningmate.ph/index.php/event/result/186
One last view of the 20k race route.
One last view of the 20k race route.

It was a great run to start my running year. It was a great experience because for the first time, I experienced what it’s like to go through a very hard uphill road and for the first time I experienced the most painful cramps during a race. Even though I did not get my target PR, I’m still glad of what I achieved considering the difficulty of the route. It was a good learning experience to prepare me for my future runs and as a primer to my quest in completing this year’s Run United Trilogy. I went home with another smile on my face as I started this year with a good challenge and looking forward to a happier year. Thanks to RunMania for organizing a great event, another memorable moment for me this year.

Earned. Not. Given.
Earned. Not. Given. Photo credit: Laguna Run
Some people ran with their kids(train 'em while they're young), some ran with dogs, but most importantly, we run for fun and good health. Congratulations to all the runners.
Some people ran with their kids(train ’em while they’re young), some ran with dogs, some ran without shoes, but most importantly, we run for fun and good health. Congratulations to all the runners.
This is why I love running in Nuvali... The sun rises and shines brightly. Oh, and there's that rejuvenating warmth too.
This is why I love running in Nuvali… The sun rises and shines brightly. Oh, and there’s that rejuvenating warmth too.
So much to like on the medal design.
So much to like on the medal design.
Ok, one last shot of me smiling for facing adversity and the achievement.
Ok, one last shot of me smiling for facing adversity and the achievement.

Gears Used:

Shoes: Saucony Kinvara 4

Misc: – Energizer Headlamp with 2 modes (red light and LED)

– Sony Walkman MP3 Player with water-resistant Philips earphones

– Red Bull Arm Sleeves

– Hylong Patellar Strap, generic smartphone armband, and cheapas$ knee support from Japan Home

– Sony XPERIA V (for Nike+ Running App)

– Samsung Galaxy S4 (for photography)

Leave a Reply

