Posted in 5k, 5km, fun run, run for a cause

My last fun run of 2014… The Affinitea Brown Race 2014

Affinitea Brown Race is my last fun run of 2014. It is a Run For A Cause for the benefit of Grace To Be Born Foundation.
Affinitea Brown Race is my last fun run of 2014. It is a Run For A Cause for the benefit of Grace To Be Born Foundation.

As a runner with limited resources for running events, I have to plan which events to join (fun run, obstacle run, trail run, zombie run), the number of events in a month (because some times there are 2 or 3 interesting runs in a month), the registration price (the distance and race kit inclusion, are they worth the price?), the benefits (run for a cause, test of physical conditioning, adrenaline rush) and the location (commute or bring a car).

After careful assessments of the things I consider before joining a run, I picked Affinitea Brown Race as my last running event of the year for being a Run For A Cause (running for charity or the benefit of others), and the registration price (650php gets you a very nice singlet and one of the best looking finisher medal I ever had). Originally, I planned to run 16k for this event with an officemate, but realizing I couldn’t shell out 900php because of the budget constraints, I opted for the cheaper 5k category. I wasn’t able to register as quickly as I can because of the busy season and I was preparing for Men’s Health UrbanAthlon at the time, so I asked a friend, Erl, to register me for this event and I was able to grab a slot before the registration period ended.

For 650php (5k category), this is one of the best singlets I had this year. the back of the singlet have tiny holes (like kids sando) to keep you cool.
For 650php (5k category), this is one of the best singlets I had this year. the back of the singlet have tiny holes (like kids sando) to keep you cool.

The only downside was the location. The event was located within CCP Complex in Pasay, along Harbor Square. Since I was very low on resources this December because of some Christmas expenses, I decided to commute for this event. My plans to christen my new Saucony Kinvara 3 for this event, but I had to worry about travel time and bus availability, so I just brought my trusty Saucony Ride 4 for the event. I left home at around 3am, was lucky that the van I rode to Alabang left early despite having only 6 passengers, and was lucky again to catch a bus in Ayala, Makati around 4am. Since I’m not familiar with public transportation travel to CCP Complex, my plan was to have the bus drop me on the streets near SM Mall of Asia and walk from there to CCP Complex. At around 4:53am, I walked on a street on the other side of Diosdado Macapagal Blvd and along Seaside Blvd to CCP Complex. Gunstart for 5k was 5:30am, fearing that I might not make it on time, I alternately jog and speed walk towards the event site and also slowed down to change my shirt to the event singlet while walking. It took me 23 minutes to reach the site, which was 2.82 km away from where I started walking.

At 4:53am. it was still very dark and the street near SM Mall of Asia was isolated. Worrying about muggers, I started to jog fast and slowed down when I finally saw a couple jogging and a taxi near Seaside Blvd.
At 4:53am, it was still very dark and the street near SM Mall of Asia was isolated. Worrying about muggers, I started to jog fast and slowed down when I finally saw a couple jogging and a taxi near Seaside Blvd.

I arrived at the event site some time between 515 and 530 am. I wasn’t able to roam around much since I have to leave my bag at the baggage counter and prepare myself for the gunstart which was just minutes away. My friend, Erl, arrived earlier and I wasn’t able to see her at the starting line, I placed myself at the back since the front line was already crowded.

Race starts, I jogged at a comfortable pace before running. The weather condition wasn’t favorable, it was cold and it started to drizzle. At some point between 500m – 1km, I found Erl, and waved see ya at the finish line (my fun run rule of pacing with a buddy or running buddies can be overriden by the permission to go ahead). I was pacing at an average of 5 minutes and 55 seconds per kilometer and would some times slow down and speed walk. Along the way, the Philippine Army, Navy, PNP, and Air Force having their running drills and it was some an awesome sight of synchronized jogging.

br1
Speeding up at the last few hundred meters. Photo Credit: Running Photographers.

Thinking the weather could get worst, I sped up at last 600 meters and that means more room on the road by overtaking crowds. Feeling I was the lone runner at the road (Rogue Rebel Runner style), I heard someone galloping behind me and I was overtaken by someone from Jose Rizal University who was actually from the 16k category (which started at 5am, meaning he was doing a very fast Sub-60 16k time). I tried to speed up even more, but I couldn’t and I was just amazed by the impressive display of running speed. I slowed down a bit, but I heard foot steps behind me, so I sped up again and finished the run at 29 minutes 26 seconds, according to Nike+ Running app (couldn’t beat my current 26 minute PR, but not bad).

It rained, it was cold, but you just finished the race, so keep on smiling.
It rained, it was cold, but you just finished the race, so keep on smiling. Photo Credit: Running Photographers.
medals at the finish line.
medals at the finish line.
waiting for Erl
waiting for Erl

I rehydrated myself with water courtesy of Maynilad and waited for Erl at the finish line (which she finished arounds 40+ minutes).

Rehydrating
Rehydrating
With Erl after crossing the finish line.
With Erl after crossing the finish line.

It was a nice event, the weather wasn’t favorable during the run, but it’s okay, I ran under rainy conditions before, just be careful not to slip or trip. The sponsors’ freebies are some of the best I’ve seen in any running events. They give away a box of milk (couldn’t get one because of the long line), vitamins or supplements, photo booths, and more. We weren’t able to stay long, but I left and went home with a smile on my face as the sun finally comes out and me reminiscing a great year of running events and active lifestyle. I may have missed some runs that i regret, but I’m happy with my experiences and this last running event of 2014.

Really digging this Philippine Sun-inspired medal. One of the best looking medal I ever had.
Really digging this Philippine Sun-inspired medal. One of the best looking medal I ever had.
Family Fun Run. Start while they're young.
Family Fun Run. Start while they’re young.
BTS of a cameraphone photoshoot. Nice candid shot, RP. Photo Credit: Running Photographers.
BTS of a cameraphone photoshoot. Nice candid shot, RP. Photo Credit: Running Photographers.
One more smile for my last fun run of the year. Photo Credit: Running Photographers.
One more smile for my last fun run of the year. Photo Credit: Running Photographers.
Ok, one more, but look to the left.
Ok, one more, but look to the left.
Breaking! I just found this photo minutes ago, after finishing this blog entry. I had an urge to visit the Affinite Run facebook page and stumbled upon a bloggers FB page and found this. Nice. This was that time the runner from Jose Rizal University overtook me. I felt like a snail :'(
Breaking! I just found this photo minutes ago, after finishing this blog entry. I had an urge to visit the Affinite Run facebook page and stumbled upon a bloggers FB page and found this. Nice. This was that time the runner from Jose Rizal University overtook me. I felt like a raging snail trying too hard to go fast. Photo Credit: EMSoquena’s FB page.
Leave a Reply

